Blue Like Jazzy Jazz

Donald Miller’sImage Blue Like Jazz is one of those books that has always stuck with me ever sense reading it when I was in high school. The book is a series of essays about certain topics and how they relate to faith. What sparked my interest in the book again was the movie adaptation. The movie is really nothing like the book in that it really only deals with one topic and that is loving Christ, but being ashamed of what religion has done to Christ teachings. I thought the movie was great and it was indie film if there was a indie film because I think half the budget came from a kickstarter project in which the fans of Donald Miller and the book gave money to get the movie finished. One line that resonates with me is a quote from the book and film and that is“…Sometimes you have to watch somebody love something before you can love it yourself…” My duty as a Christ follower is to show love to others, meet peoples needs, feed the poor, love the unfortunate. Sadly that doesn’t seem to be the message of most churches. I’m not saying I’m perfect and that I do those things all the time. I probably haven’t done one those things in months.The bottom line is that some people need to be shown Jesus to understand why christians love and follow Him.People have to watch somebody love something before they can see why they would love it themselves. I only started getting why Jesus loved a idiot like me because I started showing his love to others. Its pretty awesome. I hope people will walk into the movie theater and see this movie,if not then on DVD. Blue Like Jazz(book and movie) has great themes and messages and It’s the only christian movie I have ever seen that cussed….maybe Left Behind had one or two. So that was just some thoughts. Go and Be. Show some love.

Leave a Reply

